W. E. Hill & Sons
Founded in 1887, W. E. Hill & Sons built a long and distinguished history of expertise, dealing, instrument and bow making. The acquisition of the company by J&A Beare directors Simon Morris, Steven Smith, distinguished violinmakers Stefan-Peter Greiner, Robert Brewer Young, and Hill bowmaker Derek Wilson marked its return to London. The new Hill workshop is located in the historic coach house and stables of Burgh House from 1704 in London Hampstead.
The Hill tradition of making fine instruments and bows continues in the London atelier, where notable, historical examples used by W. E. Hill and Sons consistently inspire new work.
Under the direction of Robert Brewer Young and Stefan-Peter Greiner, violins after Stradivari’s Messiah, the best of Bergonzi and the early work of Guarneri del Gesu are being made as part of the Hill heritage. New Hill bows continue to offer the excellence of an enduring English tradition. Derek Wilson, who joined Hill in 1978, oversees the making of each bow.
Since 1762 the Hill name has represented a combination of craftsmanship and the highest standards of expertise that the company continues to offer.
Robert is also the designated researcher for the Hill Archive, which continues to provide insights into the provenance and history of eminent instruments.